The IT Crowd

2006 British sitcom

Wiki Channel 4 page IMDB



Data sheet

Type TV show
Genre TV show#Sitcom Comedy
Creator Graham Linehan
Cast Chris O'Dowd, Richard Ayoade, Katherine Parkinson, Matt Berry
Theme music composer Neil Hannon
Country of origin United Kingdom
Original language English
No. of series 4
No. of episodes 25
Executive producer Ash Atalla
Editor Paul Machliss
Camera setup Multi-camera
Running time 24 minutes (special approx 47 minutes)
Production company Talkback Thames, Delightful Industries, Distributor Fremantle
Original network Channel 4
Picture format 576i (16:9 SDTV) (2006–10) 1080i (HDTV) (2013)
Audio format Stereo
Original release 2006-02-032013-09-27


The IT Crowd is a British sitcom originally broadcast by Channel 4, written by Graham Linehan, produced by Ash Atalla and starring Chris O'Dowd, Richard Ayoade, Katherine Parkinson, and Matt Berry. Set in the offices of the fictional Reynholm Industries in London, revolves around the three staff members of its IT (Information Technology) department: computer programmer Maurice Moss (Richard Ayoade), work-shy Roy Trenneman (Chris O'Dowd), and Jen Barber (Katherine Parkinson), the department head/relationship manager who knows nothing about IT. The show also focuses on the bosses of Reynholm Industries: Denholm Reynholm (Chris Morris) and later, his son Douglas (Matt Berry). Goth IT technician Richmond Avenal (Noel Fielding), who resides in the dark server room, also appears in a number of episodes.

The comedy premiered on Channel 4 on 3 February 2006, and ran for four series of six episodes each. Although a fifth series was commissioned, it was not produced. The programme was concluded with a special "farewell" episode that aired on 27 September 2013. The programme was critically acclaimed and has a cult following.